PDA

View Full Version : Anybody on Here Collect Baseball Cards?

frikativ54
01-12-2008, 04:35 AM
I was just wondering how much crossover there was between people who collect sportscards and those who collect game-used items. Do any of you collect baseball cards, or do you limit it to just game-used memorabilia?

skyking26
01-12-2008, 06:16 AM
I started collecting cards when I was a kid (72 Topps). I have complete Topps sets from 74 to date and buy 2 sets a year, one for me and one for my 10 year old son since he was born. I used to buy the other co's but it got to be redundant.

harpt
01-12-2008, 08:33 AM
I have a Topps football set from 1973 (the year I was born) to 1991 (the year I graduated high school). I also have a bunch of single cards, mostly from the 70's and 80's. I really don't buy them anymore, but they still have great personal value to me. As much as I like them though, they could never compare to game used items for me.

3arod13
01-12-2008, 09:34 AM
I've been collecting sports cards since 1972. I picked up my first Game Used piece, a (1993 Juan Gonzalez Game Used Bat. Still collecting sports cards, I then picked up these Game Used pieces: 1993 Juan Gonzalez Game Used Cleats, Ball Cap, Fielding Glove, and 1992 Jersey. I found myself looking for Game Used memorabila more than cards due to the fact sports cards were getting way too many and expensive with all the inserts. I thought it was much nicer to have a piece of something a player used, than sports cards. I still collect both, but not as many cards as in the past.

WadeInBmore
01-12-2008, 01:57 PM
I had been collecting cards focusing on vintage rookies and cards of the Big Hurt...when I stumbled onto some Thomas game used items and now I find myself more into collecting game used items. I will say this much, it is a little easier displaying cards then actual game used items thats for sure!!!!!!!

David
01-12-2008, 02:43 PM