PDA

View Full Version : Tell us your collecting horror story what you collected, but was thrown out or given away after you left home

3arod13
01-24-2008, 07:16 AM
Tell us your collecting horror story what you collected, but was thrown out or given away after you left home

Myself, I don't have one. But I know there are a lot of horror stories out there.

bigtruck260
01-24-2008, 10:35 AM
Not really a game-used...but "concert" used:

I am a drummer by hobby and I attended an Iron Maiden concert in the late 80's...and Nicko McBrain (Maiden's drummer) tossed out a few heads from previous nights into the crowd. I caught the bass dum head, and it was signed. It was my prized possesion for a long time.

When I moved out, I left my drum kit at my parent's house and my Mom cleaned my room pretty regularly. She decided one day to toss all of the beaten up drum heads that were laying on the floor and surrounding areas - INCLUDING my McBrain head.

After I got married, I came back to pick up my remaining stuff and FREAKED when I could not find it. My Mom tossing my junk wax from the 80's was one thing - but I had words with her about the drum head.

Now, it's no big deal. I am beyond the "metal phase", and I probably would have sold it on eBay for $50. Not worth being upset at Mommy.

Dave

34swtns
01-25-2008, 07:42 AM
Not really a "thrown out" story but.......

My mom had told me a few years back that she collected baseball cards when she was a kid in the 1950's. Other than the interesting fact that my mom was a tomboy I never thought much about it. When her dad (my grandfather) passed away, we had to clean out a huge tin shed that was completely full of junk that had been basically exposed to the elements for 40+ years. Lo and behold, among all the crap was a shoe box full of rubber-banded baseball cards. But unfortunately they were all ragged edged, flimsy, and about the consistency of Charmin tissue. What a shame.

3arod13
01-25-2008, 08:47 AM