PDA

View Full Version : Player Signed Inscription: What's it Worth

EurekaDave
04-24-2008, 04:38 PM
I just purchased a game used jersey from a high-profile player. He signed it as game-used and added that he had hit a home-run in it. He added the number.

The question is, how much value do you think it adds to a jersey to have that inscription and number?

I know it depends on the buyer. I just wondered what you thought.

ndevlin
04-24-2008, 04:43 PM
Whos the player?

skyking26
04-24-2008, 08:59 PM
I have been collecting for 30 years, and started autographs asking for inscriptions so to have something "different" than the next guy. I think it adds alot in terms of asthetics and value. I'd take an auto'd anything with stats on it vs. an item with just the signature and pay a slight premium as well...

RK

AWA85
04-24-2008, 09:39 PM
I agree that an inscription makes an item more unique. It is one thing to have an autograph item but to have a special moment or stat written on an item sets its apart from other items and would increase the value of it to myself.

You have us wondering, who's item do you have?

frikativ54
04-24-2008, 09:47 PM
I have been collecting for 30 years, and started autographs asking for inscriptions so to have something "different" than the next guy.

I think it's a matter of opinion. In my judgment, inscriptions seem like more of the same, especially with companies like ESM or AMI that seem to have everything inscribed. Why do you need more information on a glove, save an auto?

I think it adds alot in terms of asthetics and value. I'd take an auto'd anything with stats on it vs. an item with just the signature and pay a slight premium as well...

RK

Honestly, I think that it would detract from the aesthetics of the piece. I don't know why a game-used jersey would need anything like stats on it. I would like a nice autograph on a letter only, but I like my items in as close to their original condition as possible.

skyking26