PDA

View Full Version : Ball Marks on Game Used Bats

joelsabi
06-04-2008, 08:38 PM
to the many game used bat owners

i just read that ball marks fade. has anyone seen this happen. how long before such fading occurs and is there anyway of preventing it or diminishing the chance of it happening.

thanks in advance

joelsabi
06-05-2008, 10:38 AM
Wish for some input. just want to know how avoidable is the fading of ball marks on bats.

If the ball marks are going to disappear with a high degree of certainty and unavoidable, i would discount this as a trait on a bat in future purchases. so far all my bats have seen no fading of ball marks since i purchased them some as old as 12 year ago purchases.

Dewey2007
06-05-2008, 11:12 AM
I'm no expert but I had my old bat collection stored away in a closet for almost 20 years and there was no noticeable fading of any ball marks that were on any of the bats. Granted while in storage they were kept from any elements like sun and moisture so I'm sure that helped tremendously.

Hopefully other forum members can share their experiences.

joelsabi
06-05-2008, 11:30 AM
I'm no expert but I had my old bat collection stored away in a closet for almost 20 years and there was no noticeable fading of any ball marks that were on any of the bats. Granted while in storage they were kept from any elements like sun and moisture so I'm sure that helped tremendously.

Hopefully other forum members can share their experiences.

Lots of Ball marks shows that a bat has great game use and is very appealing on a bat. Ball marks are on the surface of the bat instead of indentations like cleats and ball seam marks. Would be nice to have input of forum members who display their game used bats besides those who keep them in storage.

geoff
07-11-2008, 07:17 PM