PDA

View Full Version : Cal Ripken Jr. - YOUNG Bats

ripkengamers
04-15-2006, 07:25 AM
Mike, JIm,
I'm hoping to finally clear the air on Cal Ripken Jr. game used Young bats. I've seen a few on major auction sites and another just showed up on ebay.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8793668286&rd=1&sspage name=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

Here's the one that was on GF in 2004:

I've heard that Cal never used Young bats during the actual season and may have used them in spring training.

Can you please close the book on this for me?

Thanks,

Dan (ripkengamers@aol.com)

JimCaravello
04-15-2006, 07:54 AM
Hi Dan - First let me say that I am not an expert on Ripken Young bats. I have never seen him use a Young bat at the plate, but he played a ton of games and I certainly didn't see every Ripken at bat ( and since I am a Yankees fan, I tried to watch as few Ripken plate appearances as possible! ).

Many people frown on Young bats - the manufacturer is right here in my home state of North Carolina. There are many players who used Young bats in games during their careers - and then others who experimented with Young bats in batting practice, spring training, etc. I have owned legitimate Young bats in the past - players who I saw using Young bats in games and I was fortunate enough to obtain a few directly from Young when they would participate in memorabilia shows across the great state of North Carolina. A lot of times he would bring game used ( or practice / spring training used ) bats with him - where the player would use the bat and then send it back and say - prodcue ten more like this - or tweak this just a tad. Since I no longer collect bats from the 90's, I sold all of my Young bats a few years ago. As an aside, Butch Huskey used Young bats in major league games quite a bit.....