PDA

View Full Version : Mike Haynes, Atlanta Falcons #81 1988-93

elsaivymom
04-15-2006, 06:55 PM
Hi, I am new to Jerseys and have had one just land in my lap. It is a Champion Branded Jersey for the Atlanta Falcons in a number 81, which was worn by Mike Haynes 1988-1993. It is signed on the front and has NO tags on the inside, just the champion tag on the outer lower front. Jersey is a size 44. This is a black jersey, which I understand to be the home jersey color at the time.

There is an oval commorative embroidered patch on the top left shoulder; it has a big silver 25 in the center with Atlanta Falcons above it, and the years 1966 and 1990 under the 25, with a small NFL logo inbetween the years. This was on the jersyes to mark the 25th anniversary of the Falcons in the NFL.

The right shoulder has the number 81 on it. The sleeves each have a Falcons logo on them, with an embroidered champion logo sewn under it. Front and back each have big white 81 numbers outlined in red, the Mike Haynes signature is on the front on the 8. The back has a rectangular name patch with HAYNES silkscreened on it, sewn on to the upper back poriton of the jersey.

Front and back are mesh nylon, shoulders and sleeves are very thick Nylon fabric, double thickness on the shoulders, single thickness in the sleeves. Sleeves are not banded, neck is rounded in the back going to a V in the front, with nylon or poly ribknit banding. All numbers are silkscreened, very thick, white edged in red.

Does anyone have an opinion if this sounds like real or fake, have any value at all, and to sell it, do I need to have it authenticated and if so , by who and what is the process.

It has been suggested to me that this could be a game issued jersey- but I have no clue as to what that means, so any info at all would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

G1X
04-17-2006, 11:30 PM