PDA

View Full Version : Legal advice for collectors?

Eric
04-14-2009, 08:44 AM
Are there any attorneys on this forum who would be willing to answer some questions about issues in the hobby?

Many legal issues have come up recently. If anyone has the knowledge and is kind enough to share, please email me at ecky3@aol.com

Thanks
Eric

encinorick
04-14-2009, 10:35 AM
Yup, but, speaking as a lawyer and a proud member of the California bar for more than 25 years, don't hold me liable for any advice rendered by me herewithin. I will not represent anyone, including GUU, with my words or deeds, just an opinion (unless there's a lot money involved, that's a different story). Also, remember most, if not all, disputes, are local (just like politics) so I have no knowledge regarding the local laws of various jurisdictions other than California :D

nyjetsfan14
04-14-2009, 10:57 AM
Yup, but, speaking as a lawyer and a proud member of the California bar for more than 25 years, don't hold me liable for any advice rendered by me herewithin. I will not represent anyone, including GUU, with my words or deeds, just an opinion (unless there's a lot money involved, that's a different story). Also, remember most, if not all, disputes, are local (just like politics) so I have no knowledge regarding the local laws of various jurisdictions other than California :D

Yep, you're a lawyer :D

Eric
04-14-2009, 11:17 AM
Richard-
Thanks for agreeing to answer some questions and offering your opinion.

I'll start. I am worried about the number of people around here who are owed money by auction houses. What legal options do people in this situation have to recoup the money owed to them.

In the economic climate we are in, many companies are forced to close up shop. If a company files for Chapter 11, will the people owed money see any of it, or does that get wiped away?