PDA

View Full Version : Possible Michigan Wolverines Helmet Photo Match

halzeus
04-17-2009, 10:10 PM
This is my first attempt at photo matching this helmet.

Black and White photo was taken in 1977 - Michigan vs. Texas A&M (3rd game of the season). Let me hear your opinions please.

A - possible matching paint scrape
B - chin strap snap location
C - clear facemask clips on sides
D - dark facemask clips on top

http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk225/halzeus/misc/DowningHelmetPhotoMatch.jpghttp://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk225/halzeus/misc/MyHelmetPhotoMatch.jpg

both-teams-played-hard
04-17-2009, 10:27 PM
I'm sure this is the same helmet. However, it is an inconclusive photo-match. Sweet helmet, and the photo (match or not) definitely increases the value.
Keep searching those media guides and programs!

aeneas01
04-18-2009, 02:00 AM
first let me say that you have a great looking helmet on your hands, one that could easily be deemed an authentic gamer without even referencing game photos imo. nonetheless photo matching is always the perfect icing on the cake and i think the photos below confirm a photo match...

about your helmet: it's an "air power" manufactured by bike and it was molded in march of 1976 - it's also among the first bike helmets ever made given that bike introduced their line of helmets in 1976/77. your helmet is fitted with a schutt facemask however it's also fitted with facemask clips manufactured by two different companies. the top clips were made by schutt, typical to that facemask. but the side clips, the "clear" clips you referred to, were made by dungard and designed to be used with dungard facemasks. although michigan used both schutt and dungard facemasks during that era, for some reason their equipment manager preferred to use dungard side clips regardless if the facemask was a schutt or a dungard. many michigan players that wore schutt facemasks can be seen sporting this setup in game photos from that era, including walt downing.