PDA

View Full Version : 1941 High School Football Uniform Info Wanted

cordovacollector
05-13-2009, 03:14 PM
No need for extensive research here, guys, but just wondering if you can tell me anything about the football uniforms in this photo. The year should be 1941 and the colors are blue and gold. It's a 6-man football team. The town was Frost, Minnesota, and the population was about 175, so it's likely the uniforms were just ordered from the local hardware store. Can you identify a player's postion by their number?

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/272818/Frost_Played_6-Man_Football.jpg

Here's a little background trivia. I graduated from high school in 1971 and was 6' tall ... a little unusual for the day for a girl. (Unfortunately it was pre-Title 9 and it was illegal for girls to play sports in school in Minnesota. sigh ....) So, can you guess which fella in the photo is my Dad??

I am wondering about what position Dad played (other than half a goal post!). Yeah, he's #33. I know they played both offense and defense - it's only a 6-man team - he probably had to be a cheerleader too. Dad also played basketball and was famous in town for the two points he scored for the other team when he forgot they switched sides at the jump after half time. (Did I mention we are also Norwegian?) He always had a soft spot for Jim Marshall who scored a touchdown for the opposing team as a Viking.