PDA

View Full Version : Nolan Ryan game used hat - info please?

scooter729
07-19-2009, 02:02 PM
Hi there,

I have an item for sale on ebay, and an individual offered to make me a trade for his Nolan Ryan game used hat which he is selling.

I'm not an expert in this field at all, and where it didn't have any provenance with it, I wanted to try and determine a little better if the hat really was worn by Ryan.

Here is the link:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Texas-Rangers-GAME-USED-Worn-Hat-Cap-NOLAN-RYAN_W0QQitemZ200360042624QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_De faultDomain_0?hash=item2ea663a080&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12|66%3A2|39%3A1|72%3A2149|293%3A1| 294%3A50 (http://cgi.ebay.com/Texas-Rangers-GAME-USED-Worn-Hat-Cap-NOLAN-RYAN_W0QQitemZ200360042624QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_De faultDomain_0?hash=item2ea663a080&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A2%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A2149%7C 293%3A1%7C294%3A50)

Anything in particular I should be looking for here to give the thumbs up or thumbs down on this hat?

Thanks!
Scott

karamaxjoe
07-19-2009, 03:09 PM
My opinion would be to pass on this. Why take a chance on an item so easily forged? How can the seller make the statement, "Guaranteed to pass any authenticity test" and what good is a Personal COA?

Unless you can do some kind of DNA testing on the sweat left behind, there is no decent amount of proof Ryan wore that hat. Hats have to be the easiest item to forge when all you need is a sharpie and the correct size.

Oh....one more thing...my disclaimer statement is I'm not accusing the seller of any wrong doing. The hat could be very real, but the odds are huge.

jppopma
07-19-2009, 03:11 PM
I don't know much about hats other than they often do not have many distinguishing tags (mostly same as retail). Your best bet is to try to photo match the hat. It may not be exact, but you could find a picture with sweat marks, other damage, or markings on the hat.