PDA

View Full Version : 1984 Pete Rose Mizuno game used

anatfan09
08-15-2009, 01:33 PM
Just picked up this 1984 Pete Rose game used signed Mizuno. Any thoughts? Came with a great story as to how it was obtained. Has the letter "A" stamped into the bottom of the knob. Is this the style he collected his 4,000th hit with? Appreciate any insight as to what I've got, I am a rookie collector.

Lokee
08-15-2009, 01:57 PM
are those rings tape ? or are they part of the bat ? Probably a stupid question but none of the gamers from oher players I own have anything like that. Very cool !

NFLELCollector
08-15-2009, 02:14 PM
AWESOME BAT! Great Pickup! Congratulations.
I have seen quite a few Pete Rose Bats over the Years (I was a HUGE Fan back in the 80's)-BUT i have never seen this specific bat!
It was My understanding that after he Broke the NL Career Hits Record (3600 and something?), Rose used a Mizuno Model 36XX until he broke 4000, then went to another Model.

First off the "A" stands for The Type of Wood-ASH, Stamped into the Bat by the Bat Maker (Who is the Same Guy) Who now makes Bats for ICHIRO and Hideki MATSUI-he has been with MIZUNO forever!

2nd-It was Unheard of for Bat Manufactures in the 80's to have the Team Name much less the Year of the Bat Printed on the Barrell-This is just one of the Unique things about this Bat.

The thick Tape Rings are also unique to ROSE Bats-He liked the Feel for a groved handle, almost like creating slots for each finger.
The Tape (Which is Absent from this Bat) below the Mizuno Logo (Which was Used for Pine Tar) Came Later when he was back with The Reds, and Used a Black Bat.

The Bat Should be about 33.5 Inches and Weigh about 31-32 Oz. Which was Typical Specs for a Pete Rose Gamer!

Hope that Helps,
TNT

suicide_squeeze
08-15-2009, 06:38 PM
anatfan09.