PDA

View Full Version : John Hannah Patriots Helmet In Grey Flannel Any Thoughts?

VERIS#60
11-21-2009, 01:46 PM
I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the john Hannah Patriots game used helmet in Grey Flannel? I would appreciate any information to your thoughts on it being legit or not. Thanks so much for any info!
bruce

yosef777
11-22-2009, 09:13 AM
Veris#60,
The Hannah helmet appears to me to be an actual Pats gamer but difficult to determine if it is Hannah's for sure. I am no Pats expert so I do not know if the #73 in black marker was a Pats equipment manager trademark and if it is authentic. Also, there are no size indicators in the description or photos. Even the facemask's red dot /green dot size indicator is covered by the extra side clip, which incidently was a feature on Hannah's helmet August 1981 SI cover. (To my eye the facemask appears to be a red dot indicating a medium size shell, 7 1/4 or smaller.) Seems to be some action on the helmet but as we all know doesn't mean its real. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

VERIS#60
11-22-2009, 12:02 PM
yosef777,
Thanks so much for your response! I had some of the same concerns you have mentioned. If the mask is a red dot and original with the helmet, there is no way Hannah ever wore a medium shell. I am not sure if the equipment manager ever wrote the number in the helmet during this time period. I have owned a few Patriots linemens helmets and every one of them look like they wore put in a meat grinder. Both the helmet and mask displayed numerous hit marks. However, if this helmet was one he wore at the end of a season after perhaps cracking the shell of another one. Then, perhaps, he did wear this one for a couple games. Thanks so much for your input!
Bruce

aeneas01
11-22-2009, 02:03 PM
i haven't had time to check out the gfc helmet but hannah did indeed sport a red dot schutt facemask throughout his career - in both gray & white...