PDA

View Full Version : Too cheap to be legit?

mntentman
05-10-2010, 12:15 AM
I just ran across this forum in an effort to see if some Twins jerseys I see listed on eBay are legit. At $40 for what are usually $200+ jerseys, I just can't believe they are. Especially since I see the "7" on Mauer's jersey is different style in different photos.

I am not a collector, just trying to get my daughter a jersey at less than retail. But I don't want a fake. Can anyone comment? Thanks.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&Item=160431608323&Category=60597&_trkparms=algo%3DLVI%26its%3DI%26otn%3D1#ht_1038wt _941

hiramman
05-10-2010, 08:40 AM
I'm not an expert on retail jerseys, but it looks to be a cheap knock-off from China. I usually go to MLB.com and then compare their jerseys to the ones on ebay. The numbers almost always look different on the fake retail jerseys.

You are aware that that you are looking at retail store or souvenir versions of Mauer jerseys and not actual jerseys that Mauer wore, right?

mntentman
05-10-2010, 08:57 AM
I'm not an expert on retail jerseys, but it looks to be a cheap knock-off from China. I usually go to MLB.com and then compare their jerseys to the ones on ebay. The numbers almost always look different on the fake retail jerseys.

You are aware that that you are looking at retail store or souvenir versions of Mauer jerseys and not actual jerseys that Mauer wore, right?

Thanks. Yes, I am not looking for game used.

On some of his stuff, the numbers look OK, others not so much. They did look close in comparison to the MLB pics but that may just mean a nice imitation. Can't tell without touching. (And I see he won't allow returns.) I just can't believe a legit jersey would sell this cheap.

Metsfan808
05-10-2010, 10:04 AM