PDA

View Full Version : A Few Questions From a Newbie to the Hobby

colts900
05-16-2010, 06:24 PM
Hey guys I am new to the GU hobby and had a few questions. I was wondering where most of you buy your stuff. I am mostly interested in football game used. Also I was wondering how do you know if something is completely authentic. Thanks for the help!

skier14
05-16-2010, 06:40 PM
Well, there are a lot of people out there that do forge products, and more and more of them are appearing. The people on this forum are very good at catching people like this. There are several experts on certain specific topics that can catch things. Photomatching is one of the only sure ways to guarantee that a product was game used. Photomatching is matching the item to an in-game photo based on unique characteristics. You can find items on a lot of sports auction sites and ebay as well.

Thanks,
Dustin

JasonBanz
05-16-2010, 06:40 PM
First off, let me say welcome to the forum! This forum is a great tool for probably the greatest hobby in the world. I too am strictly a football collector only. I get my items from several places. Ebay, auction houses, and different websites for the game used hobby.

The biggest way you can find if something is authentic is by photomatch. Don't take COA's(certificate of authenticity) or LOA's(Letters of authenticity) too serious because there can be faked items. I would take a jersey anyday with a photomatch, then a jersey with a COA or LOA without a photomatch.

Fnazxc0114
05-16-2010, 07:56 PM
there are guys on here like birdbats who have a website that you can atleast verify the diff't types of bats that were used during specific periods, id be willing to bet somebody out there has a database of what to look for. Its best to educate yourself first, welcome to the forum also.

JasonBanz
05-16-2010, 09:18 PM
Here's a thread that's close to the top, but I'll paste the thread anyway. A good thread on not trusting LOA's