PDA

View Full Version : Mark Teixeira Walk off Home Run Bat ALDS 2009

jsr418
09-28-2010, 12:49 PM
Hi everyone. I have been a long time lurker but this is my first attempt at posting. Earlier this year I purchased a Mark Teixeira game used bat that was MLB Authenticated as being broken on October 11, 2009 in his first at-bat against Carl Pavano. As I was doing my research, I realized that Teixeira actually hit a walk off home run in the bottom of the 11th inning to win game 2 against the Twins. This game was on October 9th. I have been trying to photo match the bat to the home run but have had a difficult time finding any photos that are high enough quality. I found some shots that lead me to believe that this is indeed the same bat that was used to hit the walk off home run. I am including some photos that have been found (with the help of Kyle Hess). Does anyone have any access to some of the higher resolution photos? I have been able to match up some ball marks and some moto stick/pine tar on the handle.

From my discussion with Kyle, he pretty much told me the following. "From looking at pics of Tex in the ALDS, it looks like your bat is most-likely the same, because it seems to be that he would use the same bat for 1-2 games, then switch to a different model. Before using the 2-tone Marucci in Game 2 & 3, he was using an LVS for games 1 & 2. Then after your bat cracked, he switched to a all-black Marucci. So being that he's seen using the same Marucci bat for only 3 or 4 at-bats, then it has to be the same."

Hologram number LH309156 was located in the MLB Authentication Database under GAME-USED BROKEN BAT.
Session Product Description:
Session Name: 2009 ALDS GAME 3 NYY AT MIN
Session Date: October 11, 2009
Autographer:
Authenticator: AUTHENTICATORS, INC.
Additional Information: USED AND BROKEN BY MARK TEIXEIRA IN THE 1ST INN FOR F-4. PITCHED BY CARL PAVANO.

This is my first shot at this and I am by no means a photo shop expert so I am apologizing in advance!