PDA

View Full Version : Historic Auctions Store Bough Bat Sold as Game Used

ldavis2261
08-25-2006, 05:20 PM
Fellow collectors,

A friend of mine bought a Knoblauch bat off of Historic Auctions. I saw him for the first time in years at a Gloria Rothstein show and he showed it to me. I am not a bat expert by any means but the bat is not authentic. In their photos

Historic Auctions (http://www.historicauctions.com/search/showphotos/auctionid/32753/)

Their description reads "This game used bat shows nice use including ball and lace marks on the bat barrel"

In reality, the bat is mint, there is absolutely no use. There is no marks or even a scratch

They do not show a closeup of the bat. I know for a fact that the line underneath the 125, seperates the game used bats from the store bought bats. This is not visible from their photos. My photos of the actual bat are below

They never say it was a world series bat, but it is marked 1991 world series

They also do not mention in the description that the bat is personalized. They say " It also sports a mint, smudge free, signature", but no mention of the "To Jim". I will give them enough credit that they did show a picture of the personalization.

Realistically though, the only thing this bat is good for is firewood.

metsbats
08-25-2006, 05:33 PM
www.pauloneill21.com (http://www.pauloneill21.com)

Paul O'Neill is selling replica WS bats on his website. I think they also have the underline under the 125.

This bat is a replica and not one issued for game used in my opinion.

David

Eric
08-25-2006, 06:32 PM
Ldavis forgot to mention, (which he did mention to me) that his friend has made numerous attempts to contact historic auctions to get this fixed, and has left messages on a voicemail without hearing back from them.
Eric

ironmanfan
08-25-2006, 07:34 PM
I'm sure that the next time Joel boasts of his dinner with James Brown he'll be sure to bring this up.

ldavis2261
08-26-2006, 11:18 AM
Some more photos

ldavis2261