PDA

View Full Version : RG Johnson bat company??

earlywynnfan
09-02-2006, 03:48 PM
has anyone ever heard of the RG Johnson bat company from Denmark, ME? this is a full-sized (32.5") bat with high-quality wood grain. The "Lynn" burned into the barrel is deeper than the burned logo; all are hand-burned. Can anyone help me identify and/or date this bat?

Thanks, Ken

earlywynnfan
09-02-2006, 03:49 PM
Oops!! Forgot the scan!

Ken

suave1477
09-02-2006, 06:43 PM
HERE IS A STORY I FOUND ON THESE BATS PRETTY INTERESTING!!!

Rupert G. Johnson and the Sebago Bat Company

July 22, 2004

Jack Barnes and I were sitting on his front porch in Hiram, enjoying some of Diane's freshly made muffins. "I treasured my R. G. Johnson baseball bat," Barnes told me. "Coach Johnson had custom made it for me in his work shop. After I graduated from Standish High School in 1945 I carried it with me on the train when I went to college in Dickinson, North Dakota. It never left my sight," he remembered.

"I was at bat for my team and hit a clean single to right field, but as I hit the ball it broke my Johnson bat into two pieces. My teammates were hollering at me to 'run, run!' but I just stood there at home plate staring at my bat!"

"By the time I snapped out of it and ran for first base they threw me out," Barnes said. "I don't remember if we won the game or not. But the memory of breaking my Johnson bat is as fresh today as it was nearly 60 years ago."

Rupert "Rupe" G. Johnson (1902 - 1974) was Barnes' beloved teacher and coach at Standish High School when it was located at Standish Lake Station (the building is now the home of the Schoolhouse Players). Johnson was principal there from 1925 until Standish joined SAD6 and moved the high school to Bonny Eagle. He continued as a Bonny Eagle high school teacher and athletic director until his retirement in 1965.