PDA

View Full Version : Where do you guys get your GU items?

hohlernr1
07-22-2011, 03:02 PM
I'm pretty new to the GU hobby and I just want to know where you guys typically find your items at?

I'm continually amazed at some of the items you guys come up with on the "show off" threads and would eventually like to find some of the same quality items for my collection. I assume some of the items come from ebay and other collectors on this site, but I'm sure there are other places to find items.

Just looking for some insight / help! Thanks!

yankees506
07-22-2011, 03:14 PM
Ebay is a minefield so you gotta do your homework. But that's where i get a vast majority of my items also John Taube's site gameusedbats.com is great so is Tim at hofbats.com. There are a few other sites as well as the "items wanted" section on this site. Happy collecting and welcome!

coxfan
07-22-2011, 03:49 PM
I've bought mine almost entirely from the Rangers at their stadium, or from the Braves. I've never been comfortable buying from other sources. The Rangers have nearly everything MLB-authenticated.

frikativ54
07-22-2011, 04:20 PM
I've bought mine almost entirely from the Rangers at their stadium, or from the Braves. I've never been comfortable buying from other sources. The Rangers have nearly everything MLB-authenticated.

I would second buying game used items from teams. I have found some stuff through the Astros and Tigers, as well as the Rangers and Mariners. I feel much more confident when I buy stuff from sourecs people can trust. That's why I feel satisfied when I buy stuff from MLB.com Autions. I've also bought a bit from Steiner.

CampWest
07-22-2011, 04:29 PM
If your team holds an annual Fan Fest or any "garage sale" type events those are excellent sources. Keep an eye on their website throughout the year and you will usually find a few opportunities.