PDA

View Full Version : Maine Guides Geno Petralli on eBay

akrover
04-07-2012, 08:33 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&_trksid=p4340.l2557&item=260994030229&nma=true&rt=nc&si=r9UJ9d2vcbFwvb1vtV44dYqPIvM%253D&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWAX%3AIT&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc

I've never had this happen, just I just bid on this jersey on eBay, and was the high bidder but my bid didn't go through & I have no idea how or why. I've been bidding on eBay for over 10 years and consider myself an expert and I have never seen this before. I placed my bid, the little circle refreshed and it re-loaded the auction page where I was the high bidder, then the auction ended & it showed I lost at a much lower bid than I had placed. There is no record of my bid in the bid history now. I'm still shaking twenty minutes later.

Did anyone here win this? Was anyone watching it? I have been desperately searching for a Guides for a many, many years and this is just the latest frustrating example of one eluding me.

This one though, I had some problems with. The main problem I was having is the only style match I can find for this jersey is 1986, when Petralli did not play for the Guides. All other surrounding years the Guides emblem was screened onto the front of the jersey below "MAINE" or "GUIDES" as opposed to on a shoulder patch as represented here. The 'emblem on front' style jersey is the only one I can find pictures of Geno wearing. It seems he was released at the very beginning of the '85 season, so I'm just trying to find why he might have been issued this style? I could understand if maybe he played two games at the end of the 85 season when they may have switched to the 86 uniforms. Does anyone have any ideas?