PDA

View Full Version : Diplay informational placecards

CampWest
05-12-2012, 11:20 AM
I did not feel like working on the work I brought home from work this morning, nor like yardwork. So instead I worked on some of my game used bat photo composites and then decided to design an informational placecard to use with my displayed game used items that are photomatched, unique, historic, etc.

The topic of informational placecards for displays has come up several times before, so figured I'd share where I was at on this project.

I've created this template in Word. Size is 2.5" x 3.5", which is baseball card size. I figured the size could allow me to place them in baseball card holders and on baseball card stands.

Clearly, I am not a graphic designer, so these are nothing too fancy. I am considering adding team logo or maybe a small picture of the item, but for now this is where I am, pretty basic and simple...

I'd love to see any samples of what others have created or here any ideas or feedback on my work in progress.

CampWest
05-12-2012, 01:49 PM
Not sure why I thought Word was a good idea... I switched to Photoshop, here is my new design...

RaiderNationPDX
05-12-2012, 02:49 PM
Some (low-res) examples of placards I've created for items; I use standard sizes for each type of item that are meant to fit inside their respective cases/cubes. Had a free afternoon a year or so back, so like you're doing, I whipped up something to give my collection a more put-together look.

Jersey placards are 5.5" x 8.5", football is 2" x 7" and baseball is 2.875" x 0.75".

I put the career bio of the player with the jersey for the simple fact that most all of them elicit a reaction of "who the f*** is that?" from people seeing it. On my budget, I'm not exactly buying first-stringers.

schillingfan
05-12-2012, 06:32 PM
Great idea guys.

I decided to whip something up really quick for my latest pick up. Nowhere close to being done but it's a start.