PDA

View Full Version : Legit Eric Davis bat or no?

EricTheRed44
12-13-2012, 09:00 PM
So I just bought and M110 Davis bat on ebay. I didnt see it on the list Brian gave me, but still thought I'd take a shot hoping he left something off, plus the seller offered full refund if bat was found to be a fake basically.

Thoughts on the bat?

Somewhat worried it may not be legit, but only have 80 into it so thought it was worth a shot.

sox83cubs84
12-14-2012, 05:32 PM
I am not a bat expert, but there are positive signs. There are no retail IDs engraved on the knob, and, if legit, the bat is from 1984-86...translating to Eric the Red's first three seasons (including, possibly, his rookie year).

Dave Miedema

Murph4Prez
12-14-2012, 11:24 PM
Nice bat.

I see Murph using a dark brown or black bat in some photos/cards. Wonder how difficult it would be to get one of those?

Dave, do you have any information on the black or dark brown Murph bats?

EricTheRed44
12-15-2012, 11:06 AM
Dave,

I agree with your thoughts, the only thing, is that from what I've been told the R to the right of Louisville slugger (below his signature) was only done from 86-89? The bat records provided by Brian do not show an order for an M110 in 86, but I was hoping either it was left out somehow or maybe they did it prior to 86. Not knowing whether or not it was legit, I put a max bid of 70 on it and ended up winning it. I figured if it was somehow from his first few seasons, it'd be well worth the risk. The knob having 44 written on it and not having any retail markings is the reason I went for it, not sure if Barrel has his number on it or not, all of his bats that have writing on them have them on both ends.

Thanks for the comments guys,
Joe

Dewey2007
12-15-2012, 11:38 AM