PDA

View Full Version : ebay 1969 Packers game worn jersey

packerfan
02-26-2013, 11:23 AM
Does anyone else have problems with this 1969 Packers jersey? While I'm by no means an expert on all Packer jerseys, about the only thing that appears correct is that it is a durene jersey. Other than that, the cut around the neck (the neck opening should be cut into the shoulder area), the number font, and even the sleeves look wrong on this jersey. If this is a legit packers jersey please let me know.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1969-JOHN-ROWSER-GREEN-BAY-PACKERS-GAME-WORN-DURENE-JERSEY-HEAVY-USE-w-MEARS-LOA-/281070010180?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item417113ff44#ht_2709wt_1141

Flamechicken
02-26-2013, 01:11 PM
It was originally sold by Mears in their Dec. 2012 auction.

http://sports.mearsonlineauctions.com/LotDetail.aspx?lotid=52507

I'm not sure why Mears never attributed it to a player like the Ebay listing does.

I agree on the cut of the neck. All the pics I've been able to find has the front horizontal seam running across the lower neck line.

On another note, why would you want to restore the number instead of keeping it like it came off the field?

Mike

genius
02-26-2013, 01:52 PM
number font off (where's the "Packer 5", also it does seem like some of them had a different style of 5 but still this one seems too thick), NFL patch too close to the numbers so not a style match with the Adderley jersey, no tagging. It's possible that buried under all the restoration it's a real Packers jersey with all of the repairs but the numbers and patch aren't right, again in my opinion. And the color even seems a bit off to my eye, maybe a shade too light with the green but could just be my imagination, all of the above just my opinions. A question I like to always ask though is if not a Packers jersey, what is it?

Here are some 1969 Packers photos. http://www.gettyimages.com/Search/Search.aspx?contractUrl=2&language=en-US&family=editorial&p=packers+1969&assetType=image