PDA

View Full Version : Grey flannel auctions! What is up?!

greg678
05-05-2013, 10:09 PM
I am new to collecting and Bought my first couple jerseys and put a lot of money and time into them. I researched tagging ect. and photo-matched items before I bought.
I was Excited about Grey Flannel Auction and thought that they were really solid from their rep, but boy was I wrong.
Their statement " The jersey was properly tagged (5 minutes work), was presented to us as game-used (0 minutes work) and in our opinion shows (2 minutes work?) appropriate use." Is everywhere!
I started to do work on some jerseys and was like "can't they photo-match and explain where the jersey came from and why do I have to all the work?
They......I hate to say this, but enjoy it too,.......Suck!
I just don't understand people who have a Greg Maddux jersey and just sell it and all they say "it was game used and thats the story" and walk away! Are you kidding me!!!
Grey Flannel........I ain't bidding.
Thanks
Greg

onlyalbert
05-05-2013, 10:22 PM
They've started doing that in the last few auctions. Basically, it is a CYA thing. They take any blame off them if an item later doesn't pass the mustard by saying Hey, this is what the guy told us, and we believe him. They won't say it is 100% authentic, but offer their "opinion" only.

greg678
05-05-2013, 10:30 PM
I know it it going that way of the, this guy with a HOF jersey walked mailed this in and said "it is real sell it" is stupid!
The stories behind the items are gone. Weird and sad.
I am sick if the clubhouse guy story also. My friend works for Apple and I don't say " Wow, where did you get those dozen iphones from?"
You don't just walk put of work with your employer' s stuff.
Thanks for posting.:)

Dewey2007
05-05-2013, 11:25 PM