Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • coachnip13@aol.com
    • Jul 2013

1981 Alan Trammell game used jersey dilemma

Hi guys, new to the board with an issue that is perplexing to me.

I own an Alan Trammell jersey from 1981. As a kid I worked as a bat boy for the Tigers during spring training, and I was allowed to take various items that no one had any use for any more.

Here is my issue. As you well know, major league jerseys were recycled to be used by minor leaguers during spring training. The "TRAMMELL" name was stitched directly to the jersey. In order to fit a normal replacement nameplate on the back, they cut the "T" off the beginning and the "L" off the end. That nameplate has since been removed. So I have a 1981 #3 jersey with "RAMMEL" stitched on the back, with slight discoloration where the nameplate did not allow that part of the jersey to fade. My question is, would a collector rather have the jersey in its current state, or should I have it restored? I don't want any perception at all that I attempted to fool someone by taking it away from its original state.

I have a feeling that a 1981 Trammel jersey has some value to Tiger collectors out there, but I want to do it the right way. Thanks for any advice.

I'm doing this from my phone and will be glad to post pictures tomorrow.
  • commando
    • Nov 2007

Re: 1981 Alan Trammell game used jersey dilemma

Originally posted by coachnip13@aol.com

I own an Alan Trammell jersey from 1981. As a kid I worked as a bat boy for the Tigers during spring training, and I was allowed to take various items that no one had any use for any more.