PDA

View Full Version : Wilson The Duke Football

Claymore
08-22-2013, 03:57 PM
On a Wilson The Duke Football, what do the small letters mean under the made in usa ?
i have seen ones without them and others with different letters ? :confused:

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s202/VST502L/sb47football11_zpsace77941.jpg (http://s153.photobucket.com/user/VST502L/media/sb47football11_zpsace77941.jpg.html)

jpipes
08-22-2013, 09:08 PM
I'm still learning the many aspects of how to read a professional football and its markings but my understanding is those letters can be used to help date a football. It's not much right now I know but hopefully can point you in the right direction!

cohibasmoker
08-22-2013, 09:45 PM
On a Wilson The Duke Football, what do the small letters mean under the made in usa ?
i have seen ones without them and others with different letters ? :confused:

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s202/VST502L/sb47football11_zpsace77941.jpg (http://s153.photobucket.com/user/VST502L/media/sb47football11_zpsace77941.jpg.html)

It's the last stampings placed onto a football. The letters identify when the football actually left the Wilson factory - NOT when it was made.

Jim

Claymore
08-23-2013, 12:08 PM
Thanks guys, ive got 4 of these footballs that i have on display and even though 2 of them are quite new and one even still has its tag on only one of the balls holds air :mad:

has anyone else had problems with them or is it just my bad luck ?...just seems strange that with decades of experience making footballs you wouldnt expect them to spring leaks after a few years !! :confused:

ive even got an old soccer ball from the 1980's that still holds air !! :rolleyes:

scottishcowboy41
08-25-2013, 04:25 AM
Thanks guys, ive got 4 of these footballs that i have on display and even though 2 of them are quite new and one even still has its tag on only one of the balls holds air :mad: