PDA

View Full Version : it's a shame!!!!

lund6771
12-04-2006, 11:14 AM
Hi there!!!...I am a newbie to this site but definitely not a newbie to collecting...I had been collecting since 1987 when uniforms started getting hot...it was fun collecting back then!!!...it seemed like almost 1/2 of the equipment out there at the time was actually the real deal!!!...and if it wasn't it was very easy to distinguish that

just like everything else in this world, once value started dramatically increasing for all game used equipment, it attracted lots of crooks!!!...in 1992 Champion started issuing basketball jerseys in collectable frames that were tagged correctly and that threw a lot of things out of wack...they were quickly sold as game used jerseys..remember when Karl Malone wore "K. Malone" on his jersey but there were lots of "malone" jersey's out there?...Jordans and Pippens with the name to high?...Shaq's eveywhere?...boy did a lot of people get burned on these....I remember going to the National in the summer of 93 and seeing this stuff everywhere!!!...in a differenent thread GREED was the word mentioned, and that hits it right on the head!!!...not only were there "new" dealers/crooks that started selling garbage out there but I believe that 1/2 of the known dealers were selling this stuff with full knowledge of what was going on..."but it was tagged correctly" was the common quote out there and I think that was used as a safety net...

I got out of collecting in 1998 because it was soooo sickening to see what was happening to a HOBBY that was suppossed to be fun...many dealers hit hard times and values plummetted...a lot of people were saying that the market was soft...I don't believe that at all...The true collectors, that dealers needed, left the industry because they were tired of getting screwed over and it just wasn't fun anymore...dealers were selling stuff sooo cheap and most of the time it was to other dealers instead of the collectors