PDA

View Full Version : Mike Schmidt Game worn final jersey --- Grey Flannel

skyliner59
04-22-2007, 08:19 AM
Grey Flannel has included in their current auction a supposed game used 1989 Mike Schjmidt (Final Jersey). Several months ago I was offered this jersey and showed it to Dave Bushing who verbally told me it was not authentic for several reasons. I am not an expert in regards to determining the authenticity of jerseys, so if anyone would like to take a look at this one here is the link. http://www.greyflannelauctions.com/
Also, in the description it states distinctly "Final Jersey Worn". But in the description it states, "We were told that this was the last jersey Schmidt wore in the big leagues in 1989." With no documentation, how can you make that claim. JUST A THOUGHT!!!!!

skyliner59
04-22-2007, 08:23 AM
Correction: In the title it states (Final Jersey Worn)

hblakewolf
04-22-2007, 08:58 AM
Skyliner-
Can you elaborate on yur discussion with Bushing-what specifically did he indicate was not correct with this?

Did you pass this info onto Richie Ruzzek or anyone at Grey Flannel? If so, what was their response to yoou?

Howard Wolf
hblakewolf@patmedia.net

hblakewolf
04-23-2007, 10:01 AM
Skyliner-

As noted earlier, I'd be curious to know why Bushing did not like this particular jersey?

I have seen two other "1989 road Schmidt's" in the past, and both had problems with the nameplate being incorrect. In 1989, the first year the Phillies introduced the grey jerseys, the letters used on the nameplate were wide/thick. Then, in 1990, Rawlings incorporated a "thinner" version of the same type of lettering.

Both of the "1989 game worn Schmidt's" I've seen had the 1990+, thin style lettering, when they should have the thicker.