Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Glove Experts - OK, what did I buy?

Hey all,

Just picked up this white leather glove. Any clue to the age? And no, their is no evidence that a web was attached.

Thanks,

Rob L
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Re: Glove Experts - OK, what did I buy?

Hi Rob. OK. I was watching this auction and honestly I didn't think it was a non-web workman's glove. The seller says no evidence of a web, but the pictures are not clear, so you will need to assess that for yourself when you receive the glove. I am not a glove expert, but I am fairly knowledgeable.

A non-web workmans glove would date this to the 1880s. This does not look like an 1880s glove based on the design and features, IMO. The cloth piping, laced bottom, back strap with double button holes, lining and overall shape of fingers seem off. It is also big...a workmans glove would probably be small, not much bigger than a hand, and would be shaped more like a hand, taller fingers and more narrow.

This didn't go unnoticed, but I wouldn't trust the underbidders (I think they are far from experts and probably had doubt too). It's the "experts" that didn't bid that are conspicuously absent that further add to my doubt.

Just my opinion...I could be wrong...I think you'll have a better idea once you get it. (I hope I am wrong and you are rewarded for taking a chance )

-Joe

Hi Rob- I am doing some more research, digging through photos, and I've come across some photos of non-web workmans gloves which have some similar features as this glove...specifically the backstrap and shape of fingers as this glove...so I'm thinking that it could possible this could be genuine. The gloves I've seen though have rolled piping and asbestos linings and generally look more 19th cent. Anyway, I'm probably not helping, but just wanted to let you know it's possible.

Hi Joe,