Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need advice on cleaning stinky jersey

Hello to all
    I recently purchased a very nice Chris Doleman Pitt Panthers jersey. Only problem is the smell since it came from an obvious cigar smoking owner. Anyone ever encounter this problem? Any suggestion on removing the odor? Thanks

Re: Need advice on cleaning stinky jersey

I had a Pens Ron Francis jersey that reeked of cigarette smoke, sold it as a "clunker" because of it, buyer said he soaked it in Oxyclean and not only did it get the smell out it became bright white. Try at your own risk though, I have no first-hand experience! I just bought Doleman's sideline warmup jacket...your jersey is the only other Sugar Bowl jersey I have seen besides mine (kicker Eric Schubert). Great item!

Try spraying febreze on it and let it hang on the clothes line for a while. See if that helps.

Quote Originally Posted by ndevlin View Post
    Try spraying febreze on it and let it hang on the clothes line for a while. See if that helps.
    Agreed. Letting it air out for a few days is your best bet. Out in the garage or someplace safe at night and then put it out for some fresh air during the day.

Another thing that you can do is toss it in the dryer, low heat, no FS Sheets though. This helps to air it out as well.

Do not wash it, or soak it! This will ultimately alter the condition of the jersey. If you do you FeBreeze, use a VERY SMALL amount. Spray it from a distance so it doesn't soak the fabric. Spray it while its outside on the line or something.

Good luck