Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Banned

Wade Boggs bat..steal or dud?

I'm not a Boggs expert at all but the bat looked good and it was only 200.00 so I pulled the trigger. B349. cupped. What do you guys think? And what time period does it fall under? Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images      

Re: Wade Boggs bat..steal or dud?

Greg-- 1986 to 1989.......34 inch and 34.5 inch B349 models are documented in H& B records...
    Mike

26 not in Boggs handwriting, but I dont think he always wrote his number on his bats.

Here is some valuable commentary and photos on Boggs' game use characteristics, couretsy of Andy Benish at VintageBats.com

http://www.vintagebats.com/featurepageWadeBoggs.htm

Mike jackitout7@aol.com

I've always stayed clear of the '86-89 Boggs LVS bats for the reason that I assumed these were big years for team promos/Anaconda Kaye bats to be made. Am I correct in thinking that, Mike?

I think the number on the knob looks passable, could be Boggs. That straight edged "2" doesn't seem to be the norm until later on.

That said, I would have passed on this one. If you get it, curious to see pics of the hitting area.

Quote Originally Posted by emann View Post
    I've always stayed clear of the '86-89 Boggs LVS bats for the reason that I assumed these were big years for team promos/Anaconda Kaye bats to be made....
    Vince Malta's book shows Boggs ordering 652 bats from 1986-1989. Not counting post-season, there were 648 regular-season games during that period. So, Boggs was ordering a bat a game, and considering he didn't break that many, slapping those opposite-field singles and doubles, that seems like alot.

Also, B349 is listed as a pro stock model for him.

I didnt like the lack of tar near the center label.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Wes Campbell

Banned