Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Washing Jerseys

Washing Jerseys

I'm a Game Used novice, and I was wondering if there is any reason not to wash lightly game used or player issued jerseys?

Re: Washing Jerseys

Quote Originally Posted by Dalkiel View Post
    I'm a Game Used novice, and I was wondering if there is any reason not to wash lightly game used or player issued jerseys?
    I personally STRONGLY prefer not altering items post use - adding an autograph being the exception. I want the items as close to when it left the players hands as possible. Also, dirt, pine tar, ball marks, etc can all aid in authenticating an item as genuine (EVIDENCE OF USE is paramount in game used collecting) and if you are lucky that evidence can greatly aid in finding indisputable photo matches.

I would not wash any item I have as a collectible. If I bought a $40 game used jersey to wear, then that could be washed, but not as a collectible.

if there is an unbearable stench that needs to be addressed, try febreze or something that can eliminate odors without altering the appearance and eliminating evidence of use.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Wes Campbell

One issue with multiple washings is that it could present more of a look of use on it. Puckering/fading/loose threads all could develop.
    Looking for: Joey Votto game used items.

Here's why I ask, I sold a jersey to someone and when they received it they washed it. After they washed it they decided they didn't want it and want to return it.

Here's why I ask, I sold a jersey to someone and when they received it they washed it. After they washed it they decided they didn't want it and want to return it.