RUDY-HOW ABOUT A PHOTO MATCH ON THESE?

November 10 2005 at 9:53 AM HOWARD WOLF (Login hblakewolf)

Good morning Forum readers:

As an avid and longtime Phillies equipment collector, m,y interest is peaked anytime I locate a nice item for sale.

Please reference the current American Memorabila auction. Offered is a pair of 1980's Pete Rose spikes. I'm not a spike expert, however, ask someone on the Forum for assistance on this lot (#228):

http://www.americanmemorabilia.com/Auction_Item.asp?auction_id=24523&aucsearch=pete%2 0rose&anyallexact=exact&aucperiod=&auclisttype=&au ccat=&tfm_orderby=&tfm_order=

I have 2 serious concerns with these:
1. Rose wore Mizuno while playing with the Phillies
2. Likewise, he wore metal spikes, not plastic as used on these Nikes.

I have hundreds of photos of Rose with the Phillies, and can't seem to locate him wearing these.

Can Rudy or a Pete Rose collector provide photographic evidence of Rose wearing such a pair of spikes with the Phillies?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Howard Wolf
hblakewolf@patmedia.net

AuthorReply

Reid
(Login sportscentury)
Good luck on this one, Rudy!

November 10 2005, 10:05 AM
Howard,

What I'm surprised you didn't catch is that the Phillies wore maroon shoes, not red. According to my records, they wore maroon shoes that matched the maroon hats and maroon trim on the uniforms (not red). In 1992, when the Phillies introduced their current style uniforms, it was the first time that the shoes were red and they deviated from the maroon color.

Plastic?

How new are those 14s? It looks like they were written on there this morning.

Rudy, you are the man when it comes to providing photos...but man do you have your work cut out for you on this one!

Last thought: is this the correct style of Nike for that era?

Reid

If you would like to receive my list of game used baseball and basketball items, please email me at rgf2@hotmail.com.

rudy
(Login kingjammy)
good luck indeed

November 10 2005, 3:31 PM