Hello & Welcome to our community. Is this your first visit? Register

Starting Up - Detective Work? (ie M Camby 96-97 Gamer)

I'm very new to the Hobby. I want to start a collection (to display) and focus on my hometown teams and various players I like.

There is a jersey I saw that popped up on eBay
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=200085462731

What way is there to do detective work on a short term auction, where it can be difficult to find photos, match tagging etc. What signs do you look for, and identifiers?

I'm probably leaving a lot of things out, and will ask as I go along. Thanks for any help, much appreciated.

Re: Starting Up - Detective Work? (ie M Camby 96-97 Gamer)

Basketball jerseys, I personally believe, are the most difficult to authentic use. I truly believe most are not even worn by a player. However, the seller is very reputable (the only person I'll buy NBA stuff from), and has a terrific collection and sources.

Just call him up and ask about the amount of wear. He is always very helpful.

Good luck!!!
    "We need rebirth of the American tradition of leadership ... in private life as well." "'Trust me' government asks that we concentrate our hopes and dreams on one man; that we trust him to do what's best for us. My view of government places trust not in one person or one party, but in those values that transcend persons and parties. The trust is where it belongs--in the people." - Ronald Reagan"

http://www.freewebs.com/chrishwish/

That seems like a low price for a Camby game used jersey. If it's 100% authentic, and confirmed game worn, I'd say it's a great price. Otherwise, it's probably just decent for agame issued.. Best thing with these are team COAs/LOAs, etc.. if the team does in fact issues them. They don't always seem to accompany the jerseys though.

SC

Quote Originally Posted by ahuff View Post